June is Recreation & Parks Month 

Recreation and Parks month initiated by Parks and Recreation Ontario (PRO), The Ontario Parks Association and the Ontario Recreation Facilities Association in 2005 was meant to draw attention to the incredible value of recreation and encourage people in the community to get out and get active! The City of Brantford offers residents a vast amount of recreational opportunities in the community centres, pools (indoor and outdoor), fitness facilities, fields, parks and trails. The Parks and Recreation Department have put together a list of free and low cost activities for the entire month! We encourage everyone to try something new and take part in all this amazing City has to offer! There is something for all ages and activity levels. Who knows - maybe you'll even love it and keep active all year long!

  • Friday, June 1
    Free drop-in dodgeball from 6:00-7:30 pm at the Woodman Park Community Centre ages 11-15.
  • Saturday, June 2
    National Health & Fitness Day! Free fitness and gymnasium admission. Includes weight room, fitness classes and basketball. Visit waynegretzkysportscentre.ca for details.
  • Sunday, June 3
    Free Circuits from 6:00-7:00 pm in the gymnasium at T.B.Costain/SC Johnson Community Centre for all ages.
  • Monday, June 4
    Free Kids Night Out program from 5:30-7:30 pm at Woodman Park Community Centre ages 6-12 years.
  • Tuesday, June 5
    Free Line Dancing at 9:30 am at Beckett Adult Leisure Centre ages 50+.
  • Wednesday, June 6
    Free drop-in Open Gym from 3:00-7:00 pm at Woodman Park Community Centre ages 11-17.
  • Thursday, June 7
    Free Sportsrageous program 5:30-7:30 pm at Woodman Park Community Centre ages 6-12 years.
    Free Youth Basketball from 7:30-9:00 pm at Woodman Park Community Centre ages 12-17.
  • Friday, June 8
    Free Find Your Spirit celebration at Harmony Square. Learn more visit harmonysquare.ca
  • Saturday, June 9
    Walking Group from 10:00-11:00 am at T.B.Costain/SC Johnson Community Centre for all ages.
    The Telephone Opera at 1:00 pm at the Bell Homestead NHS for all ages.
    Free Find Your Spirit Celebration at Harmony Square with fireworks! Learn more visit harmonysquare.ca
  • Sunday, June 10
    10th Anniversary of Harmony Square. Free live entertainment and grand finale with Debra Brown. All ages welcome.
  • Monday, June 11
    Free Tai Chi at 11:00 am at Beckett Adult Leisure Centre ages 50+.
  • Tuesday, June 12
    Get active on the local trail system. Walk or ride the beautiful Grand Valley Trail or Brantford Rail Trail.
  • Wednesday, June 13
    Free Kids Night Out program from 6:00-8:00 pm at Branlyn Community Centre ages 6-12.
  • Thursday, June 14
    Free Adult Skate from 1:00-2:30 pm at the Wayne Gretzky Sports Centre ages 18+.
  • Friday, June 15
    2 for 1 admission to Adult Basketball from 6:00-8:00 pm at the Wayne Gretzky Sports Centre ages 18+.
  • Saturday, June 16
    Free Tai Chi from 9:30-11:30 am at Harmony Square. All ages welcome.
  • Sunday, June 17
    Free round of Mini Putt from 2:00-4:00 pm at Earl Haig Family Fun Park for all ages.
  • Monday, June 18
    Free Aquafit from 10:30-11:30 am at the Wayne Gretzky Sports Centre for ages 15+.
  • Tuesday, June 19
    Free Zumba from 5:30-6:30 pm at the Wayne Gretzky Sports Centre ages 15+.
  • Wednesday, June 20
    Join the Brant Cycling Club for a weekly trail or road ride that explores the local area. Visit brantcyclingclub.com.
  • Thursday, June 21
    Free Zumba Fitness from 10:00-11:00 am at Community Room B Grand River Community Health Care Centre all ages.
  • Friday, June 22
    Free mini putt for seniors 45+ from 11:00 am-1:00 pm at Earl Haig Family Fun Park.
    Free Euchre at 1:00 pm at Beckett Adult Leisure Centre ages 50+.
  • Saturday, June 23
    "Summer Serenade Concert" with the Brantford Memorial Concert Band at 7:00 pm at Bell Homestead NHS.
  • Sunday, June 24
    Have a picnic at Mohawk Park and don’t forget to bring bocce balls or Frisbees for a game of Frisbee golf or enjoy the splash pad and play grounds.
  • Monday, June 25
    Enjoy an evening stroll through the colourful, tranquil Glenhyrst Gardens.
  • Tuesday, June 26
    Free Kids Night Out program from 6:00-7:30 pm at Major Ballachey School ages 6-12.
  • Wednesday, June 27
    Beat the heat and enjoy a walk on the cool, free Indoor Walking Track at Wayne Gretzky Sports Centre from 6:00 am-10:00 pm.
  • Thursday, June 28
    Free Shuffle Board at 1:00 pm at the Beckett Adult Leisure Centre ages 50+.
    Free Adult Skate from 1:00-2:30 pm at the Wayne Gretzky Sports Centre ages 18+.
  • Friday, June 29
    Welcome to Summer 2 for 1 public swim admission from 1:30-3:30 pm and family swim from 3:30-4:30 pm at the Wayne Gretzky Sports Centre. All ages welcome.

Call 519-756-1500 for more information on any of the activities offered above.